Bewitching, Brownie Brittle, and Circuit Training..

“Woe is the child who tastes salty from a kiss on the brow, for he is bewitched, and soon must die”.-On Cystic Fibrosis: European Folklore, Middle Ages.

I have Cystic Fibrosis. Unlike European folklore’s premonition, I don’t foresee DYING anytime soon… The key word here is plan, you do have to have a plan, though- everyone should! For me, this plan (to live, of course) entails a dedication to rigorous exercising and “healthy-ish” eating habits.  My illness is most harsh on the respiratory and digestive tract; it is important for me to keep my body in the best shape, to combat reoccurring sickness, malabsorption, and poor digestion. Adherence to air way clearance, nebulizer treatments, and medicines are just as, if not more, important than exercise and diet (some topics I may discuss more in other posts).

My hope is that this blog will encourage not only me, but anyone that reads it, to choose a healthy life style: exercise, diet, be happy with simple things, and etc. πŸ™‚ I will be keeping track of pieces to my days over the next few weeks, to observe the impact of practicing healthiness on lung function. In recent times (9/27/16) I observed my lowest lung function, 85%. My baseline lung function has typically been 106%-108% (for the past 25 years of my life). I noticed an increase in the aggression of my illness this time last year and it was not until July of 2016 that I could, FINALLY, statistically prove, a different kind of Cystic Fibrosis has been visiting me.

My next appointment with CF clinic is not until November, 2016, so I have some time to really experiment with the “healthy-ish” stuff and make a comparison!

 

Circuit Training.

My first week of fitness,  9/26/16 through 10/2/16. I went to the gym three times last week; I was not feeling up to par BUT that does not matter, still go. You can even go and walk on an incline with the treadmill for 10-15 minutes at the gym and I would be happy with you and/or myself. It is conditioning; you are preparing your body and mind for expecting to be at the gym on a regular basis, just by showing up. The hope of course, is for your visits to peak productivity but there is nothing more unproductive that not going at all. Lets just remember that gym is a loosely used word- your gym can be your basement, your bedroom, a trail by your house… A gym, here, is more of a room in your mind; a place you consider appropriate to conduct your exercising.

At Gold’s Gym, each visit was nearly the same; circuit training. A circuit is a completion of all prescribed exercises amongst your exercise outline. The training piece comes in when you repeat these circuits over and over again. I’ll show you the outline to my circuit training for last week, below.

One circuit:

  • One minute of planking
  • 25 seconds of mountain climbers
  • 12 dumbbell curls
  • 6 reverse pull ups
  • 15 seated medicine ball side to sides
  • .25 mile sprint

The point of this particular circuit training I outlined is to do four; you want to run a total of one mile by the time you are done. The six exercises are meant to be done back to back with little break in between but lets be honest, one to two times, I gave myself a one minute break in between a pair of these exercises, lol. I’ll get there. So again, the pattern is one minute of planking to 25 seconds of mountain climbers to 12 dumbbell curls to 6 reverse pull ups to 15 seated medicine ball side to sides to a quarter mile sprint, back to start over again at the one minute of planking and continuing this for a total of 4 circuits.

One day at the gym I know I substituted the dumbbell curls for some leg pressing (10 leg presses); I say it is fair to substitute exercises with others as long as they’re equally productive. I am excited to experiment with new exercises on the week of October 3rd.

I always incorporate a ten minute warm up to my exercises and my warm up of choice last week was 10 minutes of speed walking. Stretching- people should do that too, before the warm up- I did not. I will try next time.

Brownie Brittle.

I know my title placed Brownie Brittle before circuit training, it was my passive way of saying I would rather be eating brownie brittle right now than exercising. Nonetheless, exercise prevailed. I just want to share with you that I had the opportunity to try this incredible snack at my aunt’s a few months ago, a fellow chocolate connoisseur.. Last week, it was nothing short of serendipitous to find the Brownie Brittle at check out in Home Goods- not that anything and everything brings serendipity at Home Goods.. If you are looking to try a new “snack” and love chocolate, if you especially love brownies, it is Shiela G’s Brownie Brittle: Chocolate Chip. This is better than brownies- it has a cookie crunch, and tastes like you have just picked off the crispy sides to a freshly baked brownie batch. Worth a try. Especially with milk! I drink whole milk, by the way; I love it.

-Feel free to give me your feedback, ask questions, and etc.; that is kind of the point!

 

Take Care!

Morgan Fogle

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Bewitching, Brownie Brittle, and Circuit Training..

Leave a Reply

